When I first went vegetarian, over 20 years ago, there weren’t many burger options around. Or maybe I just lived in the wrong suburb. I ate Veggie Whoppers at Hungry Jacks quite a bit, until one day I saw a cryptic sign next to the Veggie Whopper and chips meal deal: Please note, one or more of these items are not vegetarian. Odd, I thought. Upon enquiry I was told the burger had animal rennet in the cheese, and the chips were pre-cooked in beef fat. So close, and yet so far. What a pity that something that was ostensibly vegetarian was in fact not.